writer Kate McGovern responds to my outtakes post

I love the Internets. Kate McGovern’s Modern Love column about self-identity after an interracial relationship inspired an outtakes post. She replied:

…thank you for getting what I was trying to say and for getting me.

 You are exactly right: I’ve been “working on it,” so to speak, for years, long before I met Daniel; our shared impulse to think and talk critically about race was part of our mutual attraction right from first meeting.  The years I spent working in the Harlem Children’s Zone were particularly formative, I suppose…it’s such a singular place, and I had many experiences there relative to “seeing” race and my whiteness that I think most white Americans are not privy to (or perhaps not interested in). I learned a lot from talking with my middle schoolers about race. (if only we were all as honest and frank about this stuff as middle schoolers!)
And you’re so right, too, that interracial relationships and families can’t be our only “plan” for making progress. That’s why, ultimately, regardless of the demographics of my eventual family, these are conversations I will be having with my children.
Anyway, I appreciate your close reading and your thoughtful response. Look forward to reading more of your blog in the future.
Kate
Very cool.
Leave a Reply

